Shri Mata Vaishno Devi University
Approved Under 12(b) & 2(f) of UGC Act 1956

The Department of Philosophy & Culture is one of the two constituent Departments of the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences. The Department aspires to become multidisciplinary in the area of philosophical and cultural studies. Presently, it offers Master's and Ph.D. programme in Philosophy; broad areas for Ph.D. programme being Indian Philosophy, Philosophy of Mind, Logic and Moral Philosophy. Besides, the School also offers core (compulsory) as well open-elective courses to the B. Tech. students to inculcate analytic and critical attitude in them. The Department is encouraged to introduce more introductory level courses to these students so that they develop an attitude of comprehensive understanding.

Faculty Profile


Dr. V.K. Tripathi - Head of Department

See All Faculty Members